43 years…where did the time go?


Forty-three years. That is how long it has been since I left home. Barely 18. In fact, just 13 days after my 18th birthday.

I am still amazed that it has been that long. I do not feel as if so many years have passed. Yet, life’s clock does not lie.

Thirteen days ago, I spent my 61st birthday attending the 2016 Pierce County Cancer Survivor Conference. It was certainly not what I might have believed 43 years ago that I would be doing in 2016.

Yet, I am thankful for life. I am thankful for the life I have lived…and am continuing to life.

But I still, for the life of me, cannot figure out where the years went. It seems like just a few years ago that I was taking the oath of enlistment.

 

2

Rather than rehash old stories, if you are interested in reading the story of the day that I left for the Air Force, you can visit the link to my blog post from two years ago: 41 years later: Freedom and independence was bittersweet

 

5 thoughts on “43 years…where did the time go?

  1. You are correct 43 years ago doesn’t seem that long ago. What’s also true 52 years ago comes back and I can see faces of folks, true most of the names have left me. I remember the classrooms and the morning Flag raising. True the school was small so we all turned out for that morning prayers and the pledge. 43 years later I am 1600 miles away physically and am a member of the Texas Polio Survivors Association. Who’d a thunk it! It has been an interesting ride and it’s still going!

Leave a Reply

