Lessons of Winter Solstice


According to WebProNews, “It happens every year between December 20th and the 23rd, the first day of winter – the Winter Solstice…” when the “sun reaches its most southerly declination of -23.5 degrees…when the North Pole is tilted 23.5 degrees away from the sun.”

This year it happens on Tuesday, December 22nd, at 04:48 UTC, which is 8:48 PM MondayPacific Time (PT) here in the Northwest United States.

So today marks the shortest day and longest night of the year. With all the hustle and bustle of the upcoming holidays, I am not sure that most even pay attention to this fact.

For some of us, Winter Solstice is a day of hope.

Both literally and figuratively, I am one that likes light. Though I am not much of a sun worshiper, I do like it to stay light longer into the evening. I also like to see what I am facing, so that I can prepare for what is to come.

Light feels like a smile upon my soul. Knowledge feels the same to me.

Tomorrow will shine just a bit more light than it did today. I am hopeful that I will also be open to learn a bit more than I knew yesterday.

I am grateful for Winter Solstice and the lesson it teaches me each year.

“We can easily forgive a child who is afraid of the dark; the real tragedy of life is when men are afraid of the light.” ~Plato

Copyright © 2015 Coral Levang

6 thoughts on “Lessons of Winter Solstice

  1. I too always look forward to the winter solstice as a turning point for moving back into the light, even if only by a second a day! Here in this part of the UK, someone once told me that “it is light enough at 5pm to eat your tea without the light on on the first Sunday in February”. I have found this to be true (dark thunderstorms excepted). The day lengthens by an hour a month morning and evening here, so at the start of March, it is still light at 6pm.

  2. I’m noticing that it is already navy blue when I’m waiting for the bus at just before 7am and can even still be light at 5pm when I leave the office for the homeward journey. (By the way, I also have a WordPress account but no blog as yet, so using this sign in for now until I get it sorted out fully.)

Leave a Reply

