Three months comes to an end


This past several months have been filled with a whirlwind of events, as it is for us all nowadays. I have come to the point in my life that I do not want to continually “multi-task,” nor do I wish to be ever-vigilant, making sure that everything is compartmentalized, living by the “never-let-them-see-you-sweat” rule. Even when life gets hectic, it is nice to be able to step back and take a breather.

I have done just that. Taken some time off.

Taking a break

I work part-time as a contract trainer, though doing the work I do with our clientele, 25 hours can feel like an 80-hour work week. I think it is due to the nature of the job, always being in front of an audience. Always being “on.” Maybe it is due to how I do my job and my personality.

This is not a complaint! It is one of the things I love most about the job. I give it 110% of my heart, soul, and energy when I am there.  Even after I leave work, I am not one who can easily leave the people–my workshop participants–and forget about them.

After my last day of training on July 20th, I looked forward to “some time off.” I asked not to be put on the August schedule. Six weeks to simply not worry about others. Of course, it takes time to get used to letting that go.

By mid-August, I realized that there were going to be some “heavy” situations involving family and friends. I wanted to be of support to them, giving them the 110% of my heart, soul and energy while I was needed.  I did not want to have to split that part of me between the two parts of my life.

So, I asked for September’s schedule off so I could commit my time to my family.  I was not on the schedule until the last two weeks in September, so coverage was able to be found.  I am also happy to say that the crises moments have passed, and others are beginning to move beyond them, as life continues on.

Time and change can be frightening

I was not on October’s schedule until the 20th, so it meant that I would be off from any work for a total three months.  That scared me a bit, as I have come to rely on the income from two to four workshops a month over the last six years. That part has not been easy, but I am grateful for what I have that has allowed me the breather.

I have also wondered whether or not, after three months, I could walk back in and train with the same fervor–at the 110% level–as I have for nearly seven years. I know the material. I easily adapt to the audience. But will I be a bit rusty?

New opportunities and loyalties

Several days ago, I was contacted by a friend who has her own consulting firm, wondering if I might be interested in a short-term contract as part of a training team. We have known one another for six years, having attended the same training week upon hire.

After hearing the details of the contract, it is one that sounds exciting and gives me an opportunity that is unlike any other I have had. As well, I was able to recommend and refer another great trainer for the same opportunity, and she has agreed to be part of the team on this project. I am excited to be working with this woman–my friend and sister.

Both of us have commitments to other employment situations, but when opportunity knocks, it is hard to not answer the door. We each have talked to our prospective employers/project team lead and asked for the time to work on this special project.  Each will accommodate the schedule, accordingly. It is nice to know that there are employers and managers who understand and are willing to work things out with people that they value.

What is in store

So, it looks like I will be traveling to Texas for the last two weeks of October with the possibility of an extension, if needed.  I am not on schedule with my other gig until November 17th, so it works out from the time perspective.

We never know what life has in store for us when we are willing to step back, and allow ourselves some time to breathe. It gives us opportunity to view the world, ourselves, and the situations in our lives from a different perspective, when we are accustomed to running on “automatic.”

I am grateful for the relationships I have made with people who are supportive of me, and see value in me that I do not always see in myself. I am also glad to have come to a point in my life where I fear less and trust more.  

It starts with trusting in oneself to make the right decisions…for oneself, at any given moment in time.  I am glad to have had three months to give me the chance to breathe and allow myself some clarity and more perspective.

7 thoughts on “Three months comes to an end

  1. Seems like we are always reevaluating our situations, doesn’t it? I’m glad you were able to take a breather, and I’m also happy for you – that opportunities keep arising.

    1. We are never too old to reinvent situation or ourselves, within reason, Theresa! Now, I just have to wonder what I shall see “when I’m 64!” 😉

Leave a Reply

