Graduation Night 43 Years Ago


Where does TIME go?

Though it does not seem like yesterday, it certainly does not seem quite possible that I could have graduated from high school 43 years ago tonight at the tender age of 16.

By now, I was at Disneyland in Anaheim, California for Grad Night 1972 with thousands of other graduates from all over the area on a date with a boy in my class.  It was awkward, at best.

I have lived a long time by some people’s standards. At nearly 60 years of age, I am an old woman to those graduating this year. I suppose I felt the same way about my aunts and uncles and others in their 50s and 60s.

I do not think that I would ever go back to relive that time of my life, if given the chance. It would be nice to have been better equipped to handle the challenges that life doled out. But…

I would not be the woman I am today had I lived differently.  There are just some things that must be learned along the way in the exact timing it is given.

4 thoughts on “Graduation Night 43 Years Ago

  1. Sola Gratia

    This time of the year, my thoughts unconsciously turn toward high school graduation and Grad Night also. I experienced part of that same 24 hour period with you at the same venues–the ceremony; the bus ride to and fro; Disneyland after dark; posing for the souvenir portrait. I remember much of that day and night–and very early the *next* day, but I don’t remember who your date was. Come to think of it, I guess I would be hard pressed to remember who accompanied whom among most of our classmates. I might consider going back for a brief visit, but only as who I am now, never as who I was then. I would have liked to have spent more time genuinely conversing with you back then than I actually did.

    1. Thanks, Grant, for stopping in and for your kind words. It was a long time ago, and none of us really knew one another. It was also a time in life where people are not generally kind to one another, though I think our school was better at teaching it than other schools might have been.

  2. I would go back and fix mistakes.
    Not life changing things but things I regret.
    You know, those small moral failings that we look back at and cringe.
    I would go back and fix those especially if they involved others.
    Just me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

