Three Years Ago Sadness But Today a Different Story


chinese-675117_640Today, I give you short and sweet.

It was Carl Jung who said, “Even a happy life cannot be without a measure of darkness, and the word happy would lose its meaning if it were not balanced by sadness. It is far better to take things as they come along with patience and equanimity.” 

Three years ago was a very bleak time for me and for those who were closest to me. Much has transpired over these three years.

Yet, in the midst of the darkness came a flicker of light, which was not able to be extinguished. And for that, and the wonderful people in my life, I am truly grateful.

I invite you to read these other two posts to hear more of the story: Three Years and Continuing to Make Memories and Suicide: The Night I Took My Life.

“We all have a personal pool of quicksand inside us where we begin to sink and need friends and family to find us and remind us of all the good that has been and will be.” ~~Regina Brett

2 thoughts on “Three Years Ago Sadness But Today a Different Story

  1. Kim K

    Hello Coral!
    I walked the Relay for Life yesterday. I brought my cancer ribbons to help “decorate” our tent. As I was reflecting on the ribbons and decorating my luminaire, I realized I had not seen a post from you in a long time. I could not find your Facebook page on my phone… For the past 18 hours or so I have been dreading the worst… that you light had been extinguished. I am so happy to see that you are still around!!!
    Thinking of you!
    -Kim Kuhne, 3 Day walker

    1. Hugs to you, Kim! Thank you so much for thinking of me, seeking me out, and leaving me a message here! I have not been on FB since November. I wrote about it here on the blog. I have not missed it (FB) too much, though I have missed many people. If you are here in Seattle area (I think you are), then maybe coffee/lunch soon? 🙂 Coral

Leave a Reply

