April 16: Many things to celebrate


word-cloud-680706_640Three years ago today I was in an emergency room.  It began a whirlwind of events over the next 30 days that led to a diagnosis that has drastically changed my life.

April 16th is also the birthday of RGD, someone I have known since 1981. We, too, have had our own whirlwind of events in the 34 years we have known each other. Thankfully, we have remained friends over the years.  He was in the ER with me three years ago, and has been of great support since.

Today, I had an overdue diagnostic mammogram. It had been two-and-a-half years. And, as I waited for the results, I began to allow some fear to creep into my brain. Would this be another diagnosis (my third)?

I found myself planning in those few short minutes.  Planning for the “what if.”   I jump into the until it happens mode.  It is difficult for me to let that go and not concern myself about it unless it happens. It is a subtle difference that makes all the difference in the world.

The good news is that things are fine and I am cleared for another year for breast health. Another small victory to celebrate.

There will be a birthday celebration for RGD, but it will wait for a few days. And there are a few other things that need to be celebrated, like LIFE itself.

As I grow older, it becomes more and more apparent that we need to learn to appreciate each moment, as it comes, instead of our once-a-year habits.

© 2015 Coral Levang

 

Leave a Reply

