It is nearly April


I have neglected posting regularly here, but wanted to post a note to let all know I’m still alive and well.  Each day, I wake up grateful for another day. When I wake up on this side of terra firma, I consider it a good thing.

I also have a whole host of things that I need to upload to share, and will catch up before too long.  Much has happened since my last post. I have done a lot of writing “old school” style (in a journal) and need to commit some of it to this blog. Thank you all for your patience.

“Each one of us has our own evolution of life, and each one of us goes through different tests which are unique and challenging. But certain things are common. And we do learn things from each other’s experience. On a spiritual journey, we all have the same destination.” ~A. R. Rahman

 

7 thoughts on “It is nearly April

  1. Sola Gratia

    Would like to comment on Rahman’s quote. I do believe that, to a certain degree, it is possible to learn things from each others’ experience–particularly how outcomes to various challenges were affected by the kinds and qualities of entities into which various individuals chose to anchor their faith and hope while going through these particular challenges. However, having addressed that portion of the quote, it is a false premise for Rahman to posit that we all necessarily have the same destination in our spiritual journeys. That might evoke a vision of a poetic, idyllic notion, but–sadly–it does not reflect reality. Witness just one comparison among many examples from history. In the 1930s & 1940s, Adolf Hitler’s henchmen committed barbaric ethnic genocide against millions. In the 1700s, John Newton was the British sea captain of a slave ship, transporting and wreaking horrendous misery upon thousands in unspeakable conditions. Both men lived thoroughly wretched lives, but only the latter ultimately chose to turn away from his path to destruction, while he still had the opportunity. In fact, he was so grateful for his deliverance that he was moved to pen the words to the beloved, immortal hymn, “Amazing Grace.” Here were two souls, with two vastly different destinations for their respective spiritual journeys. One met the challenge of recognizing his need and accepted the solitary remedy; one met the same challenge by ignoring it. We may not have inflicted the degree of pain and suffering as these two individuals, but we still have to meet the challenges of need in our own lives, be they physical or spiritual, with the most-informed choices we can. However, merely surmising that we all arrive at the same destination on our spiritual journeys, as Rahman apparently believes, will not necessarily bring it to pass.

    1. Grant…I see Rahman’s use of the word, “destination,” as movement toward an end result in the journey that we each take in our lives. I will agree with you that we all have choices to make along the way. My intention in using this quote was to acknowledge that we, as humans, have much more in common than we might think. I have often said, “We are all in this war together, the war being life. Our battles are what are unique.”

  2. My journey has detoured me lately. I’m no longer on PP, so I’m devoting my time entirely to my blogs. My grandson’s bone cancer surgery is tomorrow and my dad died on the 19th of March. Like you, lots going on with me too. I hope to catch up with you on your next blog.

Leave a Reply

