Making Changes Soon


I am at a crossroads in some of what I want to do with this blog and where I want to go with a coaching business.  I’m looking for a mentor, and others with whom to consult, regarding getting things on the right track, and launched before the end of the year.

I like collaboration and finding the right people to bounce ideas off of seems difficult for me.  I have not yet figured out exactly why.

But, there are some things churning.  I’m also in a process of purging myself of those elements that do not serve well.  This is especially difficult, but necessary.  I simply need to remember that progress is more important than perfection.

As soon as I figure out the details, I will disclose.  My target date is in the late fall.

In the meantime, I will continue to post here from time-to-time, as well as the other sites.  Learning more about what is possible using social media comes slowly for me, as I am also still working, but I’ll get it figured out.

So, tell me…what changes are you making in your life?  In your business?  I’m curious!!

8 thoughts on “Making Changes Soon

  1. I have been a successful engineer (faculty at a leading university) and stay at home mom of four for a few years. I was just trying out high school teaching when I was diagnosed in 2012 with the neuro endocrine cancer Merkel Cell Carcinoma. I don’t fit the demographic and little is known about it. At the moment I am NED. Becuase I have to have health insurance, I have restarted teaching – but I find that I love it. It doesn’t pay well (especially compared to engineering), and these days the data collection and hoops plus all that teaching involves are long hours. But I love my students, who vary from the top in our nation to those who face so many obstacles to reaching a productive and happy life. I find myself wanting to create great opportunities for them, to be the kind of teacher who makes a difference. So on the practical side, I am recreating myself as a teacher in the hopes that I will have stable health insurance (although just last week a needed PET scan was denied by an uneducated nurse even in the face of the top Merkel oncologist at Emory Winship). On the life path side, I am recreating myself to make a difference in a way that I hope will be fulfilling to me.

    1. It is in those lightning bolt moments of life that we take the greatest risks, sometimes, and find that we are better for it in a sense of fulfillment or accomplishment. I appreciate your share, Kate. Keep making that difference! 🙂 Keep me posted on the scans. I’m due for one in a couple of weeks.

      1. Thanks, and thanks for your great blog. I find your writing refreshing and honest. I am having only a CT w/contrast instead of the head-to-toe PET because of the insurance company’s denial, so it concerns me and my oncologist greatly. But, my oncologist and I will discuss it after the CT and decide on a plan. It’s hard to fathom that I live in one of the most advanced nations of the world, have contributed for many years to the society in which I live, and now that I need it I must accept stupid decisions by uneducated bureaucrats. Rare cancers, indeed rare disease, small number statistics and unusual demographics are so difficult. And I know you understand perfectly! Whatever path you take next, I hope you will continue to share your journey. You make a difference through your sharing.

      2. Thank you so much for the kind words. And yes, I hear you loud and clear. I actually have a belief that some of us do not really have a “rare cancer,” but that it is “rarely diagnosed.” Young doctors (who often want to save the world and think outside of the box) are often reined in by the older, wiser, more conventional doctors. I am convinced today that many of us have actually had this disease for decades, but never had the proper diagnoses. I will always continue to share, Kate. No matter what twists and turns. Thank you again.

  2. Judy Veron

    Friday will be my last day with my employer of 17.9 yrs! I have accepted a full-time position at a VA hospital as a nurse! At 52 I returned to the classroom to achieve my life’s dream. I had become comfortable in my job and secure in keeping my family health benefits intact while navigating cancer diagnosis and completing treatments. Working and attending school full-time was my way of ‘finding a new normal’ never really planning to leave my comfort zone.
    I’ve decided that fulfillment is most important in life and NO ONE knows what lies around the corner; therefore, at age 55, I’m starting a new career and only looking forward!

    1. Judy…congratulations on your accomplishment, your new career, and still going strong at 55!!! As far as “normal” goes, new or otherwise, I think I’ve given up on being normal. I’ve always been told that I am not, so I might as well keep giving them what they expect! 😉 I’m excited to hear more about your new career!!

  3. I love your blog.

    I’m like Kate, an engineer with Net Cancer. I would love to go back to work but my cancer just won’t allow it, if I could find the right work at home I would do it so that I could dictate my working hours to accommodate my illness. Last week I was at hospital 4 days for scans etc. This week, I have Oncology app,t and bone scan so no employer is going to entertain me at the minute.

    If I could make some changes in Canada, I would encourage part time working like we did in the UK to accommodate the working mum, the sick patient, the student etc etc.

Leave a Reply

