My January MRI…


Yesterday’s visit to the medical center where I am followed started with my being unable to get the good night’s sleep the night before. I did not fall asleep until 3:00 a.m., was up at 4:00, and then had to get up by 5:00 with every intention of catching an early ferry into Seattle. That was not the case.

I arrived at the Medical Center in plenty of time to accommodate for my being a “tough stick” when they try to start an IV line for the contrast MRI.

I ran into all the familiar faces in Radiology. That is what happens when you visit people every three to six months when you have cancer.

I am happy to say that I am glad to be remembered for good things, as the ones who know me grinned broadly, and told me how good it was to see me again, asking, “So how are you doing?”

My response: “Still alive!” We then have a good laugh.

Mario can start an IV on me with no problem. In nearly two years, he has successfully started four lines on me with one try. Of course, I want him. There is one other person named Wendy who has done the same. Others have not been so successful.

Yesterday, both Mario and Wendy were in a meeting. I was willing to wait, which is why I come early. But the MRI team wanted to get me in early, so another came by saying, “(He) is as good as Mario” claiming to have been doing this much longer and suggesting teasingly that he is better. All I have to say is this: If you are going to claim it, you better be able to back it up!   I agreed to let him try.   (To read the whole story…)

I should have known better.

Leave a Reply

