Christmas Day 2013 and the Gift of Life


I started by writing, “Before I begin my day…” Then I realized that I have been up most of the night.

I would like to blame it on the anticipation of going to my daughter’s to spend the afternoon with her and my grandchildren, but I go through this many times per month where I am unable to sleep due to some of the things that have become part of my life in the last couple of years. However, complaining is not the purpose of this post.

The holiday of Christmas lost so much of its luster for me years ago, partly because of the commercialization of what it means to me. Aside from the commercial aspect, it saddens me that so many will put on a “show” for this holiday, which represents to me a giving of oneself in a spirit of love, only to shove it back into the closet until next year. I also recognize that cynicism has tinted what I see, so it is important for me to find opportunities to see it through a different lens.

In my sleeplessness last night, I finished preparing the food/dishes that I am bringing up for our holiday dinner. The ham has been sliced, the mashed potatoes and gravy have been made, and all I need to do is reheat them when I arrive. I also cleaned my kitchen and will not have that mess when I come home.

But as I was wrapping gifts, I thought about the greatest gift I have received this year.

Last year, none of us in my family really expected that I would still be here today. I know I certainly did not. Regardless of what is going on around me, the gift I have been given once again is LIFE.

Each of us is given the same gift when we face another holiday season. Though our expectations of the season do not always match the fantasies that we sometimes confuse as what “should be,” we are given another day, another season, another year.

We can choose to keep the gift of life wrapped up or we can unwrap it and share what is inside with others. Life is given to us as the gift. Once opened we have love to share with others. That need not be one or two days a year, but a lifetime, whatever our lifetime will be.

Today I will discard the expectations and I will simply enjoy the gift of today and whatever I receive from this day in exactly how it is given.

And though I will be giving gifts to others to unwrap as Christmas gifts, I have made a decision that I am going to wrap other gifts I have collected over the year in holiday wrap and I will give them throughout the year.

I think that everyday should be approached in the same way as we do Christmas. Should you receive something unexpected, just say, “Thank you,” just as I am thankful for the gift of another day and season of life.

Merry Christmas and a happy holiday, however it is that you celebrate.

* * * * * * * * * *

Copyright © 2013 Coral Levang, and not to be used without permission. May be shared, if properly credited and linked back to this source

Repost from original by author:  http://www.bubblews.com/news/1898211-christmas-day-2013-and-the-gift-of-life

Leave a Reply

