A Day of Anniversaries


Today is one of those days that I am so busy that I can hardly take time to think, let alone write.  So, may I just say that today marks a very important day on many levels.

Today, June 14, 2013 is:

  • Flag Day, which commemorates the day that our country adopted the flag of the United States in 1777.  Oh, how I loved being the one in school and in Girl Scouts who was able to carry or raise the flag.  (“Why Flag Day Is Important to Me”)
  • My late Uncle Morey’s birthday.  I always thought it was “cool” that he would be born on Flag Day.  He was the biggest influence on me in my decision to join the military.  He was a true patriot and was the reason I wanted to join the Navy, as he had served in the Navy in Hawaii.
  • The two-year anniversary of my mother’s passing.  I miss her so much and wish that there were more time for the things we all take for granted before we realize time is short.
  • The one-year anniversary of my preparation for my June 21st, 2012 surgery for removal of tumors to prolong my life w/stage IV carcinoid cancer.
  • The kick-off tonight for the 2013 24-hour Relay for Life.  I am walking a few hours tonight, though I may not be able to stay the full 24-hours.  I was unable to garner the support that I did with last year’s efforts, both in getting a team together, as well as donations, so the few who signed up with me and I don’t have a place to sit down, rest, have a snack.  But I’m excited to share whatever adventure will happen as a result of being “in the moment.”
  • The day that I wrote one of my favorite stories in honor of my mother–Look, Mama! It’s a Rainbow!!–which has so much meaning to me on many levels.

It’s funny how some things happen in life and just how connected we are, especially on a day of anniversaries.

4 thoughts on “A Day of Anniversaries

  1. Congrats on your anniversary, except of course the loss of your Mom. though not an anniversary to celebrate; as we tend to think of the word it is a way to remember the good times and celebrate your time together. Hope things go well at the relay.

  2. Reblogged this on BEYOND THE CHALLENGES OF LIFE and commented:

    Two years ago, I wrote this piece about anniversaries. Tonight, on the eve of the same day, I am ever amazed how connected we are in life, and how death makes us realize the connectedness.

    On this eve of my mother’s passing, four years ago. I realize just how much she impacted my life. Without her, I would never have learned to be as strong as I am facing each challenge life throws my way.

Leave a Reply

