The Best Gift


It seems like yesterday that I turned 18 years of age and could not wait to leave home.  That’s what children are supposed to do, right?

And there were many bumps and bruises along the way as I maneuvered (sometimes) aimlessly through this maze of life, unaware too late that time is limited.

I know others who also lament that time passes too quickly, while memories of better times fade.

Yet, the dense fog of hurt, sadness and pride seems to roll-in and hover endlessly. And when that fog finally starts to lift, it is often too late.

Too late to say what needs to be said. Too late to say, “I’m sorry.”

Too late to say, “I love you.”

I am so grateful to have spent Mothers’ Day 2011 WITH my mother. There were far too many other years that I simply sent cards and/or flowers. Oh, to be able to get that time back!

All of the flowers, gifts, and cards over the years were nice. But sharing a game of dominoes, laughter and a hug with my mother will always be the best gift I could have ever given…

…to myself.

Mothers’ Day 2011 was her last Mothers’ Day on this earth.

My mother, Marian Levang, and me on Mothers' Day 2011.
My mother, Marian Levang, and me on Mothers’ Day 2011.

Happy Mothers’ Day to ALL Moms and those who are “like Moms” to so many people. I hope your day was filled with special moments with your children and more joy, laughter and hugs than you knew humanly possible.

Oh, and in case you’re listening, Mom…

I love you and miss you.

5 thoughts on “The Best Gift

  1. Birgit Bergmann

    I do not remember the last mothers day I spend with my Mutti and I miss her a lot.
    I am glad you had that time together with your Mom; time flies way too fast. Thanks Coral.

  2. Pingback: Mothers Day Lessons: Learning to say, “I love you” – BEYOND THE CHALLENGES OF LIFE

Leave a Reply

