Z is for Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah


a-to-z-letters-z

 

“Zip-a-dee-doo-dah, zip-a-dee-ay! My, oh my, what a wonderful day!”

These words from the song which won an Academy Award for Best Original Song from Disney’s 1946 release, Song of the South, seem appropriate for the Z post of the A to Z in April 2013 Blogging Challenge.

With this post, I have not only finished this challenge on time, but I have come to a wonderful realization!

On January 1st this year in The Beginning of a New Year as a Writer and Storyteller, I claimed:

” Last year, I neglected to write often or chose not to do so as a way to (perhaps) keep from facing those challenges on certain levels. Avoidance. Denial. Fear. 2013 is the beginning of a new year.  To build relationships.  Make connections. Tell stories. Other people’s.  My own. After all, that is what I do best.  I am…a storyteller. Facing into my own stories, sharing it for the world to see.  Writing them down. Regularly. That is what will make this storyteller…a writer.”

In the past four months, I have posted 51 times. Compare that to 2012 and 19 posts in 366 days.  The details speak for themselves.

Granted, some of the posts were revisiting articles I’d written years earlier that I thought were important to share again and, in one case, sharing a blogpost from another writer.

But the truth of the matter is this:  In 120 days, I have posted 51 times.  That averages nearly one every other day.  And I have faced into more of my own stories, sharing them for the world to see. Regularly.

So, yes!

Zip-a-dee-doo-dah!!

I do believe this storyteller is becoming…a writer.

 

11 thoughts on “Z is for Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah

  1. Judy Veron

    Not becoming but already a VERY talented writer! I for one am sooo delighted and at the same time I’m sad and concerned that you won’t post for a while since you reached your goal.
    What do you think, since May is Mother’s Day and also nurse’s week what do you say about a new blog challenge continuing with a theme idea.
    Let’s see…Women in leadership roles…from Mothers to Nurse’s and you can do a little research to find “everyday” women to spotlight!
    I know an inspiring, funny, dedicated, wonderful role model you can start with…Coral Levang!
    Don’t stop now…we all want more 🙂 !

  2. Judy Glarum Kurtz

    I don’t leave comments very often but I just wanted to let you how much I enjoy YOU! I read all of your posts mostly because they uplift me. You are an amazing lady, and just as Judy V said,,,,don’t stop now, we want more!!

  3. Pingback: I Am a Survivor! | Beyond Life's Challenges

  4. Paula Baxter

    Coral,
    Thanks for your encouragement. I’m so glad that I’ve got to know you on FB Glad that you doing well. Keep writing.

    1. Thanks, Paula. Now, we need to plan to meet f2f soon! I was just down in Portland this weekend. If I would have known how to reach you, we could have met for coffee at the Starbucks on Hwy 99 when I stopped on my way back! Thanks for reading and commenting!

    1. Well, I have not kept up on writing every day like the challenge help but I have a couple of things going right now that I am working on! Good to see you here thank you for the comment!

Leave a Reply

