I is for Inspire


a-to-z-letters-iIt was over four years ago that I declared my purpose in life “to inspire others to see beyond the challenges faced in life.”

I had no preconceived ideas about how I was going to do it. In fact, I was careful to make sure that I did not limit myself by saying where I would or would not do it, because I have been known to have to eat my words a time or two.

Several years earlier, a friend of mine worked as a realtor for a Keller-Williams team.  He wanted me to meet his team leader, Mike Bastian.  I was adamant about “not wanting to get into real estate,” but wanted “to help others realize their potential.” I agreed to meet with him.

I enjoyed the conversation I had with Mike.  He was intelligent, positive, very successful and a true leader.  And he honored my request not to try to “sell” me on joining the team.

Instead, he purchased a download of Rhonda Byrne’s The Secret (Film) , which spoke of “The Law of Attraction.”

Before we sat down to watch it together, Mike said these words (paraphrased):  “Coral, when you choose to do what you are intended to do, the Universe will put you in situations to do it.  Where you do it will not matter.  Real estate (or any other place or job) will simply be the vehicle by which you are living your intention.”

Though I found the quasi-documentary to be a bit too magical, mystical and “woo-woo” for me, the Law of Attraction made perfect sense  to me from the perspective of  changing one’s emotions, thinking, perception, and focus to create positive results rather than continuing down the negative road toward toxic, life-sucking results. It was not a new concept for me.

Afterward, we chatted a bit more, I thanked him for taking the time to visit with me and for sharing the film.  I also reminded him that I would not or did not want to be in real estate, but his words have stayed with me for these past seven years.

A year after meeting with Mike, I was diagnosed with early stage breast cancer and made an aggressive choice to have my right breast removed. Before then and since that time, I have been presented with many other challenges, which has required me to be able to think, look and see beyond each of them.  They have given me a solid foundation to share my stories to illustrate  or mirror a situation that others might face in the work force, with human interaction, and in life.

Four years ago, I found my “dream job” as a trainer, getting paid to talk by facilitating career transition workshops.  It allowed me to reconnect with my veteran past, gave me the autonomy I needed, and it has allowed me to “shine.” And I’ve been given feedback to indicate that I have made a difference and inspired others to do what they were intended to do, rather than settle.

The Universe certainly did well by me on that one!

But one year ago this week, I was dealt a major blow.   It was one that I could never have predicted.  carcinoid

I landed in a hospital emergency room to find out that I had tumors and lesions in my mid-gut and liver, which began a series of tests,scans and surgery to diagnose and manage Stage IV Carcinoid Cancer.

One year ago, I was fearful and I did not expect to be alive  a year later.  I have since learned that many of us with Carcinoid/Neuroendocrine Cancer continue to live 10 to 15 years and more after a stage IV diagnosis!

Yes!  I am LIVING with cancer! A crazy, slow-growing cancer that many have never heard about and is represented by a zebra ribbon.  And today, I am grateful for each day I am given.  For the lessons learned.  For  the friendships I have.

This diagnosis has changed my focus.  It has changed my life. I take little for granted.

What cancer has NOT done is changed my purpose and my intention.

So,  the Universe has put me in (yet) another situation to do, as Mike put it, what I am “intended” to do. This situation has become the vehicle by which I will continue to live my life’s purpose and intention…

“to inspire others to see beyond the challenges faced in life.”

Note from the author:  Many thanks to all of you who provide me the inspiration to keep focused on life and all it has to offer in this crazy world in which we all live.  I love you all.

5 thoughts on “I is for Inspire

  1. Although I do not have cancer myself I have been largely impacted by cancer in my life – I am truly inspired by people, such as yourself, that lives WITH cancer and faces each day as they were intended to.

    My first experience was in Junior Primary and it hasn’t stopped since then. Having recently lost my ten year old nephew to synovial sarcoma cancer I do all sorts to raise awareness and prevent people from thinking that it won’t happen to them.

    1. Thank you so much for stopping by and reading and your comment. I am so sorry to learn of how cancer has recently touched your family. My heart goes out to you and all of them. We must find a cure for this. Hugs and much love go out to you all.

  2. Mick

    I have’nt yet had to face the upset that you had, before you had your right breast removed.

    This is coming to me. Your lovely site prepares me for it.

    After that, I need to listen more.

    That said, there are loads of little red lights on my Blackberry and I think you’re cheating your way through the alphabet.:)

  3. Pingback: I Am a Survivor! | Beyond Life's Challenges

  4. Mike Bastian

    Hi Coral.
    I found your writing above today. I trust this finds you in a beautiful place. On today…02/02/2016… Many years later from meeting you. I still remember you as one of the most energically powerful people I have met. You just came full circle with me. I know you get what this means. Thank you for sharing all who you are with the world. I am grateful for what you do and who you are. I love you! You are Powerful. You are Amazing! You are Fearless. You are a gift. YOU have Inspired me. Thank you.
    -Mike Bastian

Leave a Reply

