Relationships: What works and what doesn’t


Relationships take many forms.

Family. Friends. Coworkers. Acquaintances. Lovers.

And so many more.

* * *

Being IN relationship to others takes hard work.

Time. Effort. Energy. Desire. Willingness.

And so much more.

* * *

I’d like to share several quotes with you.  Which one or two resonates with you?

Then, I ask that you share your thoughts.

Please comment on any that may hold particular meaning for you.

A lesson learned.  A silence that you have not yet spoken.

* * *

“It is of practical value to learn to like yourself. Since you must spend so much time with yourself you might as well get some satisfaction out of the relationship.”– Norman Vincent Peale

“A loving relationship is one in which the loved one is free to be himself — to laugh with me, but never at me; to cry with me, but never because of me; to love life, to love himself, to love being loved. Such a relationship is based upon freedom and can never grow in a jealous heart.”– Leo F. Buscaglia

“People will always make time for the things they truly want to do and the people they truly want to be in relationship to.  If they have no time, they have no desire.  Stop wasting your time trying to get their attention and setting yourself up to be hurt.” -Coral Levang

“I present myself to you in a form suitable to the relationship I wish to achieve with you.”– Luigi Pirandello

“People are lonely because they build walls instead of bridges.”– Joseph F. Newton

“Beginning today, treat everyone you meet as if they were going to be dead by midnight. Extend to them all the care, kindness, and understanding you can muster, and do it with no thought of any reward. Your life will never be the same again.”— Og Mandino

“The quality of your life is the quality of your relationships.” – Anthony Robbins

“An intimate relationship does not banish loneliness. Only when we are comfortable with who we are can we truly function independently in a healthy way, can we truly function within a relationship. Two halves do not make a whole when it comes to a healthy relationship: it takes two wholes.” -Patricia Fry

“Loneliness is not lack of company; loneliness is lack of purpose.” -Guillermo Maldonado

“Never idealize others. They will never live up to your expectations. Don’t over-analyze your relationships. Stop playing games. A growing relationship can only be nurtured by genuineness.”– Leo F. Buscaglia

“Relationships, marriages are ruined where one person continues to learn, develop and grow and the other person stands still. ” -Catherine Pulsifer

* * *

So, what are your thoughts?  Please share.

It’s time…to tell YOUR story.

5 thoughts on “Relationships: What works and what doesn’t

  1. Patricia Fry’s quote was so much BS until she got to the final sentence, “Two halves do not make a whole when it comes to a healthy relationship: it takes two wholes.” -Patricia Fry

    That was the complete thought. A wise person once said, “Marriage is a 50-50 proposition where both parties give 100%, 100% of the time.” I do not remember who to was that said it, but I believe it to be correct.

    You can like yourself all you want but you also have to like the person you choose to spend your life with. Of course this works both ways and I believe that to be the main problem with many relationships. I see many friends whose relationships have broken up and in many, not all, but many cases one person puts their all into the relationship but the other person is only in it up to the point where it interferes with their way of looking at life and then things start to fall apart.

    Being married but don’t ask me to give up anything that I did before we were married. That is the beginning then the next phase, children are fine but don’t ask me to give up my golf game or my time with the guy/girls. There are many excuses out there both before the children come along and then after.

    I will crawl back under my rock because if you are as confused as I am then I will leave you to sort out what started out to be a reasonable reply.

    1. Thank you, Gary, for stopping by and for the comment. Relationships of any kind are never easy. And I think it’s much more complicated than whether or not someone likes or doesn’t like their partner. Unfortunately, many people live their lives in fear–fear of rejection, criticism or any other number of things. I think this is what Fry meant about being comfortable with self and a balance of independence and interdependence. I think that far too many give up themselves as individuals in a marriage/friendship/etc., and try to conform what someone else’s vision of them is. Maintaining a good sense of self, and then partnering up with another who has the similar sensibility (two wholes), then it can work in a healthy, loving, giving relationship.

  2. I’ve always admired Norman Vincent Peale. I think I may have read his, “The Power of Positive Thinking” at least 3 times (I really needed it). What he says about loving yourself is so true. If you can’t begin a relationship by loving yourself, how can you expect your partner to love you?

    1. I have read the very same. It came at a time when I was really struggling with the idea that loving self first was in direct “violation” of commands of “Love God, love others.” The fact that others (in my life at the time) were not treating me well, I felt bound to “put up with it” and that the reason God allowed it was because I was faulty. It took me many more years to understand it more than in principle.

Leave a Reply

