The End of a Year


New Years’ Eve gives us opportunity to “say our goodbyes” to the painful moments of the past 12 months and to celebrate our “last hurrah” for that which we deem our greatest success, as we look forward with anticipation and hope for what is to come in the future of a new year.

I’m not sure just when I stopped going out on New Years’ Eve. If I could remember, I might have to admit that it is the moment I reached “old age.”

It is likely that I simply got tired of waking up at noon on New Years’ Day with a splitting headache,a mouthful of “hangover cotton” and the stench of stale cigarette smoke in my hair and clothes, hoping I didn’t make too much of fool of myself a dozen hours earlier.

So, here I am sitting up in bed “penning” (sounds so much more romantic than “computering” or “keyboarding”) my final thoughts of 2012, with nary a glass of wine. And as this old year is quickly fading, I take a few moments to consider what I want to forget, remember, change or keep as 2013 comes into existence.

FORGET

I want to forget that I often feel a need to be “perfect,” whatever that means. Usually it means that I am trying to live up to (what I think) others want me to be. Perfection is all an illusion, anyway.

“It’s better to be a first rate version of yourself than a second rate version of someone else.” ~ Judy Garland

REMEMBER

I want to remember those moments when I am reminded that I am living true to my intended purpose–“to inspire others to see beyond the challenges they face.” This means I need to continue to be vulnerable in telling my story, and to be open to the connection with others who, in their vulnerability, will share their stories with me.

“What makes you vulnerable makes you beautiful.” ~Brene Brown

CHANGE

I want to change the part of me that won’t let go. Sometimes, in order to be able to receive we have to make room for new blessings by discarding old ways of thinking, doing, or keeping.

“Some of us think holding on makes us strong; but sometimes it is letting go.” ~Hermann Hesse

KEEP

And finally, I want to keep building connection to the people in my life who make me laugh, who will cry with me, who will keep my heart singing, and who will simply sit quietly with me sometimes. These are the people who matter most to me as I journey through my life.

“No road is long with good company.” ~ Turkish proverb

I bid you goodnight and many blessings as we enter this New Year.

One thought on “The End of a Year

  1. Pingback: Forget, Remember, Change or Keep: Reflections on 2013 | Beyond Life's Challenges

Leave a Reply

