Seduction, Attraction, and Cooking Pots


I often wonder how it is that I am attracted to certain people, things, situations.

Sometimes, attraction has no rhyme or reason.  I can be seduced (and confused) by what I see and experience in those moments when my desires outrun my sensibilities.

And as odd as it may sound, I am reminded of this when I think of the cookware I have bought and used over the years.

I saw the bright, shiny new aluminum pot, and I came up with my own vision of a promise of better food, impressed guests, and I  felt wonderful about being able to afford to buy the newest and brightest. I polished it every day.  I loved using that new pot because it made me feel good.  It got hotter more quickly, and boiled faster.  Others admired how beautiful it was. 
One day, I placed the pot on the back of the stove on high heat.   I’d forgotten about it, and it boiled dry.  I came back to the stove only to find that the bottom of the aluminum pot became so hot that it  melted onto the electric burner and  left me with a discolored, stinking mess.  Of course, I also hated myself for getting distracted. 

I confused the newness, shininess and the ability to get hot quickly…with quality.  Instead, I ended up with something that was eventually useless to me because the high heat (and my neglect)  destroyed the vessel rather quickly .  It left me feeling foolish and I was without a pot to cook food for my own nourishment, or to share with others.

When I saw an old, well-seasoned, cast-iron pot at the thrift store for about half the cost of the destroyed pot, I hesitated before buying it.  It wasn’t ergonomically designed; it was heavy and harder to transport. 

When I brought it home, I gave it a quick wash and light coat of oil and set it on the newly replaced burner.  It certainly wasn’t shiny and pretty.  But there was something about it that was comfortable and reminded me of an old friend.  I learned quickly that I had to treat it properly, and that I could keep soup hot on the burner all day, simmering without much heat, but with a minor adjustment could have it boiling quickly.  I could turn the heat source off, cover it up, and the next morning, it was still warm.  It suited my style much better, most certainly!

I became so familiar with the cast iron that I loved cooking with it more than I ever cooked with the fancier, more expensive cookware.  And  it used less of my energy, but gave me more joy because it wasn’t so high maintenance.  I didn’t need to polish it, but simply keep it in good working order.  It never fails me, whether cooking for one or for others.

https://i1.wp.com/img.ehowcdn.com/article-new/ehow/images/a08/00/rv/can-cast-iron-pot-oven-800x800.jpg
The lesson for me was in learning to recognize earlier on how much power that  seduction and attraction have on me.  I am drawn in by my own emotions, which can send my common sense into a tailspin!  I will forget about being true to my needs or what may be “best” for me.

I think this is true in all that life gives us, including careers, friendships, love, and intimacy.

How many buy the newest and brightest new gadget, toy, or appliance, only to find out that it doesn’t work quite the way we thought it would?  We are seduced by the promise of a better life  (or whatever the advertisers tell us) when we have a certain product.

How many people stay in jobs that don’t suit them?  With companies that are not a good fit?  Complaining, and hating our jobs, we “will do anything, if they pay enough.”

We are attracted to people and their looks, status, power, or money.   Yet, we remain in friendships with people whose negativity sucks the very life from us.  In love relationships where there is no passion in or out of the bedroom.

We have to learn when and  how to let go. Learn how to recognize if we can or cannot make the difference. Or be effective in a particular situation.

Sometimes things, people and jobs are simply not a good fit or vice versa. And we might have been spared, if only we recognized our familiar patterns of behavior. But in life, love or career, learning how to do what is best for us  does not come without pain or guilt.

Yet, we can learn how to exercise better judgment, and to truly know ourselves and our triggers.  When we start paying attention, we get better at it.   We begin to realize that the first look at someone, something, or a particular situation is not always the most accurate one.  We recognize our own patterns of seduction, attraction, and then are only momentarily distracted by the “sparkle.”

There really is something to be said for maturity.

8 thoughts on “Seduction, Attraction, and Cooking Pots

    1. Thanks for reading and commenting, Mark! I’m not sure I’d find that cookware to be so “ugly,” however! Old and worn produces a lot of love to share with others! 😉

  1. Loren

    Coral, I love this article! I love the way you always find the right perspective to get the point across. You’re such a gem and your writings always make me feel good! I love you!

    1. Thank you, Loren, for your continued support of me. You truly are one of my “brothers I have chosen.” Your heart has been there through it all these last five years. Hugs.

  2. First of all thanks for reading my blog and adding you name to my facebook fan page….Second we do have similar ideals and believes. I believe in being in control of our sense not allowing our sense to control us. Our eyes see, ears hear, hands touch, nose smells, and mouth taste; but we have the power to control how we process each piece of information. Quality leads to heaven. A life full of stable homes not apartments, love not lust, success not failure, and truth not lies. When we have something that works for us, we need to stop searching for better when we have certainty.

Leave a Reply

