Memorial Day Heroes and Other Things We Take For Granted


Memorial Day weekend has come to be so much different than when I was a child.  I remember when it was a somber day, remembering those we had lost in a fight for freedom and principle.  It seems to have evolved into a much different version of its original self.

I wrote, “Memorial Day:  A Celebration Party for Fallen Heroes?” a couple of years ago to remind folks of why we have this day.  I also asked that we continue to teach our children and grandchildren about honoring and remembering those who gave their lives for the freedoms that are so important to us all.

But as I think on what that means to take something or someone for granted, there is a real sense of just how often I have done this in my life…how much we all do this.

We expect that people will be there forever.  Our health will always be strong.  Jobs will be offered.  Bills will be paid.  Someone will be there to help us through.  Our family.  Our friends. Our government.

And then, when we least expect it and in the blink of an eye, it can be taken from us.  Our world gets turned upside down.  We feel as if we will lose our minds along with losing every thing else we deem important.

When it comes to life the critical thing is whether you take things for granted or take them with gratitude.”~~G. K. Chesterton

Having had a lifetime of lessons, I am in such a better place today to be grateful for the experiences I’ve had, the people I’ve known, and for each moment shared.  If I have any regrets, it is that I did not learn these lessons sooner.

As I embark on a new journey, let me never take things or people for granted.  And as I start to share more here on this blog, these lessons (sometimes painful) will be revealed to you.

I begin by saying how grateful I am to the men and women who have dedicated their lives to protecting the freedoms that we have and that we can challenge in the system to make them better for all people.  I will never forget the sacrifices you have made.

And to my readers…peace, love and joy are wished for all of you.

4 thoughts on “Memorial Day Heroes and Other Things We Take For Granted

Leave a Reply

