For the 7th time…


…I am walking the Susan G. Komen 3-Day for the Cure event.  It’s a 60-mile event that takes place in several cities around this country.

My first year was 2006.  I walked the Seattle event, worked for the organization at the Dallas-Fort Worth event, and walked again in San Diego. 

Never did I realize it was in preparation for what was to come in my life. In June 2007, I was diagnosed with early stage Ductal Carcinoma.



I walked in Seattle again with Team WOBO in 2007, a month before my mastectomy, as well as the Seattle event in 2008, a few months after my DIEP Flap reconstruction surgery.

Last year in 2010, the Seattle and San Diego events were meant for me to honor someone who became a very dear friend.  Kim Loofbourow lost her valiant 4-year battle with breast cancer.  She was just a few days shy of her 42nd birthday.

Over the years, I’ve met so many people who have a story to share with their own diagnoses, or family and friends standing up to this disease.  More and more often I cross paths with people where cancer has challenged us all personally or the lives of those we love.

This year, I walk for all the same reasons I’ve walked before, but I am walking for my friend, Jeff Little, who lost his life at the age of 32 years old to esophageal cancer in January.  Cancer took away a father of three small children.  It took away a husband, a son, a brother, and a friend to countless others.  And it’s time cancer is stopped.

Jeff wanted to walk the 3-Day event in his lifetime, but never found the time to do so.  One of the last conversations we had before he passed away, he said, “I regret that I didn’t walk the walk with you.”  I promised him then, that I would take him with me this year and walk it together.

So, this year, I walk for  Jeff and all the others in my life who are battling cancers of all kinds.  I walk for all of my “sisters” who have been diagnosed with breast cancer in any and every stage.  I walk for those who are unable to walk, because they did not do it when they wanted, and now it’s too late.  I walk with those who, like me, are tired of losing people they love to cancers of any kind.

And I also walk for me.  I walk to stay as healthy as I can and build up my own strength.  I walk to prepare myself.  Just in case.  I walk again because I’m grateful that technology gives us opportunities to see things earlier than they used to be seen.  I walk again because I want a cure to be found.

Please visit the 3-Day website  or support me by making a donation in honor of someone you know who deserves a lifetime.

And I will do all the walking…for the 7th time.

One thought on “For the 7th time…

Leave a Reply

