Better Late than Never


This is a blog post I found that was was written six and a half months ago that I never did publish. Perhaps the reasoning for my not writing for the past seven months is due largely to not wanting to feel on those days I am in living in a funk. 

For some reason, I live with a belief that if my mission in life is to inspire others, then I cannot have my own struggles, never mind sharing them with others. 

And so I begin writing again and allow others to share both the good days and the funk days with me.  Better late…than never.

October 19, 2010

Yesterday was a tough day.  I was in a funk all day.  Though I was aware of the meaning  that October 18th held for me, I didn’t realize the extent of the impact it held on me.

October 18th, 2007 was the last day I sported my right breast.  It was also the day I began my life without it.

Three years ago last night, I was in recovery.  I chose to have a mastectomy of my right breast and had an expander placed to begin the preparations for the reconstruction surgery.

It was a fitful night. It was a painful night.  And I am certain that my pain and discomfort became equally as uncomfortable for my hospital roommate.

It is also the day I deem my “cancer-free” date…having kicked its butt before it had the chance to kick mine. I’m so grateful to have had such early detection, and to have been spared from other tough options.

CHECK monthly.  MAMMOGRAMS yearly.  Be AWARE, folks. It can save your life or the life of someone else you know.

And thanks to all who have truly supported me in this journey. Your love and friendship have meant more to me in these three years than you’ll ever know. You’ve taught me what true friendship and family is all about.

Leave a Reply

