October’s promises


Today is the first day of Breast Cancer Awareness Month. I feel as if every month is awareness month, if I have anything to do with it!

Last weekend, I participated in Seattle’s Susan G. Komen 3-Day for the Cure.  It was 60 miles, mostly in the rain this year. I’ve been participating in this event since 2006, except in 2009, having been introduced to it even before my own diagnosis.  It was the first time that I had to walk in the rain.  Thankfully, I didn’t get any blisters!

To see all the pictures I took along the way this year, click on this link.

I will be walking again in November in the San Diego event.  I’m excited to be able to see some old friends, make new ones, and spend some time with family.  I am just starting my fundraising for that event, needing $2300 to participate.  A generous donor bought me a round-trip ticket to get down to the event.   (To donate, visit this websitehttp://the3day.org/goto/CoralSD and remember that no amount is too small or too large.  Thank you for your support!)

Much of my energy is now committed to making a difference and advocating where the breast cancer cause is concerned.  I suppose having lost someone very close to me has put my feelings into overdrive, but it really is a cause that needs to be elevated so we find a cure.  This includes the global arena, in my honest opinion.

It starts with a single commitment, however.  Promise that you will get your mammogram this month, or support the women in your life to do the same.  And to make it a bit fun, here is a link that you can use to sign up and win prizes for making that promise!  To make your promise that you will get your mammogram this year, make sure you click here.

For now, I’ll leave you to make your promise, and to look at my pictures.

 

Leave a Reply

