Facing the Fear…Is a Choice


Here it is 3:00 in the morning, and I cannot sleep.  These are the times when my mind goes a mile-a-minute.  They are also the times when I don’t generally take the time to write things down…things that I think are important.

It was a year and a half ago that I declared my mission in life to be “to inspire others to see beyond the challenges faced in life.”  A lot has happened in this year and a half.  Some I’ve shared, some I’ve kept close to my heart.

I keep a lot to myself, despite what some others in my life might think about my not being afraid to speak my mind. I, often times, don’t say what I’m feeling for fear of others finding displeasure in what I have to say.  Or that they will reject and abandon me and our friendship.  At nearly 55-years-of-age, I still struggle with concern about what others “think.”

This is a big challenge for me.  Being consistent in my blogging here and writing at the other sites is difficult for me when I fall into that emotional trap.

I started writing online in order to find my “voice” and to be able to share my thoughts, feelings, dreams and aspirations without fear.  There have been many good things that have come from doing so. Yet, I find myself holding back again…and I’m not sure why.

Whether this challenge, or the others faced in life, I know that I’m not alone in feeling these fears.  I know I am in good company.  I also am quite aware that others are supportive, when I am willing to share.

Facing the fear of what others think becomes easier when I’m willing to open up to others.  That is a choice I get to make.  And of course, it comes with the risk of having others reject me.

But it also allows opportunity to have others look to me and say, “I understand.  I’m facing the same thing.”  It allows for fellowship, if for only a moment.  New connections can be made.  Lessons can be learned.  Reminders can be heard.

The next step in allowing my voice to be heard started tonight by making this blog searchable on the Net.  I’m opening myself and my voice to others on a broader level.  I’m putting myself out there more to live my purpose.

The unknown can be scary.  Facing the unknown…is the choice.   And it is my choice.

7 thoughts on “Facing the Fear…Is a Choice

  1. Birgit

    Coral, you are so right, about fear and choices that are ours to make.
    I have to make a choice, but wether or not I will do it I just don’t know.
    Thanks for writing this.

  2. Reblogged this on Beyond Life's Challenges and commented:

    Though written quite some time ago and I was not awake at 3 a.m. today, I recognize that facing fear or burying my head in the sand so not having to face that fear…is a choice. May we all learn to face fears with more courage and know that we can also choose to have someone stand with us at our sides. We must also face the fear of asking for help. Peace, love and joy to you!!

  3. Kathy

    Coral,
    I have always admired the way you embrace life… And I admire you facing this challenge head on and conquering your fears in the process!! You are right in that you will find those who understand your fear… Most of the time I hold back in being completely honest about my struggles with my weight, in some of my weakest areas I fear others who don’t have this struggle,to the extent
    that I do, look at me as weak or pathetic, so I just keep my most honest feelings to myself….
    Thank you for sharing this journey… It makes me feel closer to you.
    I admire you, I respect you, and I lift you in prayer so often!!
    Take care! 🙂

    1. Thank you, Kathy, for your kind words. Fear really does lie to us, especially when we let it get to the point of worry. Know that you are not alone in any of your struggles. *hugs*

    1. Mick…and the say to you!! I wish I could hear you say those words. I’m trying to figure out how it’s pronounced. 😉 I hope that you find your rainbow !!

      1. Mick

        say it like you’d read this in English:-

        “Law Ayla Fawdrig hunna guitch”

        and now wonder how the hell what’s written could sound like that………lololol

Leave a Reply

