At the Market Today…


It was a lovely 75 degrees and sunny.  Someday I will remember to bring my camera and take pictures to prove that it doesn’t always rain in Washington!

Summertime is my favorite time of year for all of the bright colors and beautiful, living food just harvested for the market, most of it organic.  I brought home more than I probably needed to this week:

  • 2 lbs. of blueberries
  • 1 pt. of mixed tiny tomatoes
  • 1 bunch of lacinato kale (normally I saute, but think I’m going to try the Tuscan Kale Chips recipe. )
  • 1 purple kohlrabi w/leaves
  • 1 sm. head butter lettuce
  • 1 lb. snow peas
  • 1 head garlic
  • 1 Juan Canary melon
  • 1/2 lb of hand-spun mozzarella cheese (still warm)
  • 1 small freshly baked sourdough baguette

Already I’ve eaten about a pound of the blueberries, and had a bit of the warm mozzarella with the end of the bread.

Between the colors, the sights, the sounds, and the smells, I spent time visiting with people I know this afternoon.  They shared what was going on in their lives, and I simply listened for the most part.

And I was satiated by what connection to others offer me, so that I can bring on the next week with joy and gratitude. And that bit of connection did not cost me any more than time.

3 thoughts on “At the Market Today…

  1. I live in Washington… it does always rain in Washington lol. However it’s not your downpour like you get in places like Missouri or Mississippi it’s just sprinkles now and then all through out the day/week/year.

Leave a Reply

