A Challenge for You


It was 2006 that I was first introduced to the Breast Cancer 3-Day event.  Never did I think that I could become involved with an event that was so challenging.  I was not an athlete.

I signed up to build a better relationship with my daughter.  I also wanted to make a difference and also stretch my limits.  It was through this event that I met my friend, Kim, on a training walk in April that year.

I walked in and raised the money for two events that first year–Seattle and San Diego.  I also left my job at a non-profit agency to take a 7-month contract to be a Seasonal Coach for the Dallas/Ft. Worth walk.  Three events…each changed my life.   I was in better shape and stronger physically and emotionally than I would have been had I not been involved in any of them.  It prepared me for 2007.

Henceforth, I whimper no more, postpone no more, need nothing.  Strong and content,  I  travel the open road.   Walt Whitman

June 29, 2007 was the day I heard the words that I had cancer.  I decided to do what I could to kick cancer’s butt before it had a chance to kick mine.  I was one of the lucky ones.  I didn’t require chemotherapy.  I didn’t need radiation.  This was due to my asking that the breast be removed.  I had a series of surgical procedures for reconstruction.  It was a long haul that took nearly a year and a half after diagnosis.

I don’t regret my decision.  In fact, I learned so much about myself and how I view life from the experience.  It all reinforced that I am to boldly speak about issues of cancer, life, and the challenges each gives to us.

I took 2009 off when it comes to the 3-Day.  This year I’m doing it again…twice. So, first I ask that you take a moment to watch this video…Short one-minute 3-Day clip
Now, I ask you this:  Who would you walk for?

Are you ready for an amazing challenge?  And are you BOLD enough to join Team WOBO this year in the Susan G. Komen 3-Day for the Cure walk?

Team WOBO (Walking Our Butts Off) is registered in both Seattle and San Diego events.  We invite you to take the challenge with us in either of these two cities by joining one of these teams.   We might be small, but we are committed to making a difference! For more information or to sign up, please visit the website. When you register, don’t forget to join Team WOBO!

It is going to be a major challenge again for me, as I’ve not done much these past couple of years since I’d been in recuperation mode and didn’t have much energy.  But I’ve also gotten lazy, so  it’s time again to be bold and, once again, take on this challenge.  I hope you will join me!

This is one challenge that I know we can live BEYOND!
Registered 2010 San Diego and Seattle Walker
2006, 2007, 2008 Seattle Walker
2006 San Diego Walker
2006 Dallas/Fort Worth Coach
Breast Cancer Survivor since 2007

Leave a Reply

